Chip Rogers is leaving his position as AAHOA president and CEO, which he has held since 2014, to succeed Katherine Lugar as president and CEO of the American Hotel & Lodging Association.

AAHOA PRESIDENT AND CEO Chip Rogers will leave the association after New Year’s Day to take up the position of president and CEO of the American Hotel & Lodging Association. He is succeeding current AHLA President and CEO Katherine Lugar.

Rogers had been in his position at AAHOA since 2014, according to AHLA. He oversaw a staff of 30 and an annual budget of $15 million. While he said he is grateful for his time at AAHOA, he said he is looking forward to continuing Lugar’s work at AHLA.

“The recent victories with passage of short-term rental regulations in markets across the country are milestones,” he said. “With the foundation of success established, I am confident that the AHLA will continue to grow in impact and engagement.”

AHLA conducted a months long search for Lugar’s replacement and a search advisory group made up of CEOs and executives from several hotel brands and companies interviewed each candidate. AHLA’s Nominating Committee and Board of Directors approved Rogers appointment.

Rogers will work with AAHOA’s leadership through early 2019 to ease the transition.

“For more than a decade, hoteliers have known Chip, first as a state legislator who stood up for small business owners, then as the architect of AAHOA’s government affairs department, and for the last five years, as our president and CEO,” said AAHOA Chairman Hitesh “HP” Patel. “Under Chip’s leadership, AAHOA achieved extraordinary success by all measures. Our membership numbers, business relationships, industry reputation, and advocacy presence grew exponentially because of Chip’s efforts.”

AAHOA, which celebrates its 30th anniversary in 2019 with more than 18,500 members, has begun its own search for Rogers’ replacement.

Rogers also sits on the board of directors for the U.S. Travel Association, Community Leaders of America and the California Hotel & Lodging Association. He previously served in the Georgia General Assembly for 10 years and was unanimously elected as Senate majority leader in 2008 and 2010.